American Hospital Association Data (WRDS)

The American Hospital Association (AHA) represents ~5,000 hospitals, health care systems, networks, other providers of care and 43,000 individual members.

More details below

Registration required to access AHA in WRDS: Request an Account.

Student requests require faculty sponsorship. Faculty may request access for an entire class of students by registering for a class account. 

WRDS includes a variety of economic, financial and healthcare and government data from vendors such as American Hospital Association, ComScore, BoardEx, and IRI (legacy data). Get started searching with these tips.  

AHA

The American Hospital Association (AHA) represents ~5,000 hospitals, health care systems, networks, other providers of care and 43,000 individual members.   Choose between three different databases in WRDS:  

AHA Annual Survey Database (ASDB) covers over 6,000 hospitals from 2005 - present.   Data includes hospital demographic, operations, staffing, employment model, insurance and utilization.

AHA Annual Survey Databases with CMS-HCRIS, 2005 - present.   ASDB may be combined with financial data sourced from the Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS) managed by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS) provides financial insight for Medicare-certified hospitals including income statement, balance sheet, and key calculated metrics.

The AHA IT Healthcare Database includes healthcare IT indicators.

Browse the AHA data in print for guidance selecting your search filters in WRDS.  BUS REF RA981 .A2 A6234

ComScore Web Behavior Database

ComScore provides a sample of US internet users’ internet browsing behavior, purchases, and demographics via an opt-in consumer panel. This data includes approximately 150 of the largest ecommerce retailers in the United States.  

BoardEx

Includes data on the boards of 20,000+ publicly listed and notable private companies in all regions of the world. 

Need Help?

Report a Problem

If you encounter a technical problem accessing this database, please let us know.

Proper Use of GBL Databases

Proper Use of Licensed Databases for Course-Affiliated Client Projects, Directed Studies, Field Studies, and Case Competitions.  Have Questions?  Send us a message at Ask a Librarian.